ICT Level 3 National Extended Diploma

Course Overview

Entry Qualifications

In addition to the standard College entry requirements (see below), this course requires students to have achieved grade 4 or above in GCSE Mathematics.

What will I study?

Year 1: You will study the following 4 mandatory units:

• Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Externally assessed through a 2 hour written examination set and marked by the exam board

• Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

Externally assessed through a task set and marked by Pearson over 5 hours in a one-week period

• Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

Assessed by written assignments

• Unit 4: Programming

Assessed by written assignments

You will study 1 of the following 2 optional units in year 1:

• Unit 5: Data Modelling

Assessed by internal assignment

• Unit 6: Website Development

Assessed by internal assignment

Year 2: You will study the following 3 mandatory units:

• Unit 9: I.T. Project Management

Assessed by written assignments

• Unit 11: Cyber Security and Incidence Management

Externally assessed by a task set over a 9 hour period and marked by Pearson

• Unit 14: IT Service Delivery

Externally assessed by a task set over an 11 hour period and marked by Pearson

You will also study 4 optional units in year 2.

How will I study?

This course is taught using lectures, demonstrations, practical work, group activity and individual study. Teachers are not only well qualified and experienced but also provide students with a high level of professional support.

How is the course examined?

This Extended Diploma is a 9 hour practical exam, a 2 hour written exam and a portfolio. It is graded: Pass, Merit, and Distinction. Students can obtain a Distinction* grade overall.

Where next?

Level 3 courses earn you UCAS points allowing you to take on HND/ HNC or honours degrees.

What does the course combine well with?

This is a full time course which is equivalent to 3 A levels.

College Entry Requirements

A minimum of five GCSEs, or equivalent, at grade A* – C or 4 – 9, including English Language, and Maths