Health and Social Care OCR Cambridge Technical Level 2 Diploma

Entry Qualifications

5 GCSEs grade 3-4 (D/C), consisting of at least two grade 4s and three grade 3s, including English Language.

What will I study?

You will take 8 units in total.

All students take four core units:

• Communication in Health and Social Care

• Individual rights in Health and Social Care

• Individual needs in Health and Social Care

• Ensuring safe environment in Health and Social Care

You will also take four optional units such as:

• Anatomy and Physiology

• Vocational experience in a Health and social care setting

• Emergency Care

• The impact of diet on health

How will I study?

You will complete portfolio assignments for each unit, that are based on realistic workplace situations and activities. Therefore, the teaching styles will reflect the diversity required to complete these assignments. There will be group discussions, case study work, presentations, individual research, role play situations and practical application. There will be a lot of emphasis on students making contact with, and finding out information from, real Health & Social Care professionals and organisations to ensure that you get the best understanding of what it is like to work in this area.

How is the course examined?

Units are assessed by coursework portfolio assignments via a range of assessment methods including: presentations, reports, posters, role play, leaflets & practical demonstrations.

Where next?

Progress to Level 3 Cambridge Technical courses in Health and Social Care or other vocational areas.

What does the course combine well with?

Students are able to retake GCSE Maths & English whilst on the course or undertake additional Level 2 Study. Any other Social Science subjects such as Psychology will go well with many of the issues raised in this course, as would Law. Science subjects complement Health & Social Care for those wishing to progress into health or medical related fields such as nursing.


This course is equivalent to 4 GCSEs at Grade 4/C.